Every year, the Hasty Pudding Theatricals bestows the Man of the Year (MOY) and Woman of the Year (WOY) awards on performers who have made lasting and impressive contributions to the world of entertainment.

The Woman of the Year award dates back to 1951 with our first honoree Gertrude Lawrence. Since then, recipients have included the likes of Elizabeth Taylor, three-time Oscar winner Meryl Streep, Halle Berry, Sandra Bullock and Anne Hathaway. We’ve also honored First Lady Mamie Eisenhower and comedy legends, like Lucille Ball.

The Man of the Year Award began in 1967 with Bob Hope and the subsequent recipients’ list reads like a who’s who of Hollywood’s leading men: Sean Connery, Tom Hanks, Robert De Niro, Robert Downey Jr., Justin Timberlake, and James Franco to name just a few.

Our MOY/WOY celebrations and roasts have been covered by national and international press since their inception, and are one of the most exciting Boston theater events of the season! They attract considerable media attention in the U.S. and worldwide. The events are regularly covered by broadcast news organizations including ABC, CBS, CNN, NBC, and Fox and are also featured on major entertainment news programs and websites. Additionally, People and E! Entertainment have provided exclusive content via one-on-one interviews.

Iconic images such as the honoree receiving their Pudding Pot, being roasted by members of the Cast, or being kissed on both cheeks during a parade in the streets of Cambridge are distributed in near real-time, courtesy of top professional photographers from the Associated Press, Black Star, Corbis, European Press photo agency, Getty Images, and Reuters.

A full list of past Men and Women of the Year is available here.

Thank you to our photo booth sponsor, Photo Memories In Seconds.

Screenshot 2024-01-19 at 4.18.53 PM
Athletic_FullLockup_Navy_080122-01 (2)
Harvard AD.1 (1)
Screenshot 2024-02-25 at 6.24.28 PM
Screenshot 2024-01-16 at 1.58.01 PM
joe's logo